Tuesday, December 20

Do not be exasperating your children, so that they do not become downhearted. This is taken from Colossians 3:21.

If your children are to open up to you, they need to view you as available and approachable. When parents always appear to be too busy to talk, youths in the family are likely to keep their problems to themselves. And what about being approachable? More is involved than simply saying the words, “You can come to me anytime.” Your teens need to sense that you will neither discount their problems nor overreact to them. Instead, aim for a balanced approach. A young sister named Emily observes: “When my parents talk to me about dating, they don’t make the subject seem negative. They emphasize the joy of getting to know someone and finding a marriage mate. This has helped me to feel comfortable talking to them about it. In fact, I want to involve them in any relationship I have rather than hide it from them.” You too can show that you are approachable by patiently listening to your children. James 1:19 tells us: “no sense, my beloved brothers: Everyone must be quick to listen, slow to speak, slow to anger,”

About Scarlet Moonbeam

I like to change many tv or movie stories into happy endings even for the villains...sometimes. ;-) You can find my stories on fanfiction.com or you can search my author name Scarlet Moonbeam and be brought to my home page. HTTYD: Guardians of Dragons (Or Hiccup the Night Fury) MLP: Letter of Destiny
This entry was posted in Daily Text, Missed Post Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

